Digital Photo Workshops Hangout: The Joys of Landscape Photography

explore

Our fall workshop series is coming up fast, and we’re getting into the swing of things with a special hangout that is all about landscape photography. My Digital Photo Workshops co-lead Randy Van Duinen and I will be joined by two of our guest instructors, Brian Matiash and Nicole S. Young, for an hour or so of sharing our favorite tips, gear advice, and post-processing techniques. The hangout is free to watch, and we’re even giving away 2 free passes to a future workshop, but you’ve got to be watching to win.

Date: Thursday July 31st

Time: 8 pm Eastern, 7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific

Head over to the event page to put it on your calendar.

Posted in Photography Tagged , |

July Photofocus Lightroom Hangout: Mastering the Mobile Monster

lightroomhangoutlogo-1

Just a heads up that our next Lightroom hangout on Photofocus is all about using Lightroom in a mobile world. Our special guest this month is Brian Matiash, the Global Photos Products Evangelist at Google, who knows a lot about using Lightroom on the go. My friends Levi Sim and Gerard Murphy will also be on hand to share their tips, perspectives, and insights on how to get the most out of Lightroom when you are on the move. We’re also giving away a free pass to Photoshop World Vegas, but you’ve got to be watching to win!

Date: Wednesday July 30, 2014

Time: 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific

Head over to Photofocus to learn more and add the hangout to your calendar.

Posted in Photography, Resources, Tips

Photofocus: Create Customized File Name Templates in Lightroom

custom_names

In this Photofocus blog post I cover how you can create customized file name templates to suit all kinds of needs.

There are a few places where you can batch rename photos in Lightroom. The most common is during the import process via the File Renaming panel of the Import dialog, but you can also batch rename by selecting photos in Grid view of the Library module before going to Library > Rename Photos. A less often used option is to rename copies created via export via the File Naming panel of the Export dialog. In each of these scenarios you can gain access to the various file name templates that ship with Lightroom, or you can choose the Edit option and open the Filename Template Editor and create your own templates. Continue reading at Photofocus.

Posted in Before You Start, Import, Library, LR5, Tutorials Tagged , , |

Lots of ways to learn Lightroom

I spend a large portion of my days helping people learn Lightroom in lots of different ways. I thought it would be useful to round them up a bit as we all have different learning preferences.

Lightroom 5 BookIf you are the type who just likes to have a good book at your side as you make your way in new software then I have a Lightroom 5 book just for you.

If you need a bit more support in the form of video tutorials and the chance to ask an instructor questions as you go through the book, then I would encourage you to check out my Lightroom for Everyone class over at PPSOP.com.

If you are already a KelbyOne subscriber there are a variety of excellent Lightroom video classes by Matt Kloskowski, Scott Kelby, and others. In addition, your KelbyOne subscription also gives you 10 issues of Photoshop User magazine (in which I have a regular Lightroom column), and unlimited 1-on-1 Lightroom and Photoshop tech support (I do all of the Lightroom support). If you really want to jump start your learning I’d also suggest attending Photoshop World, where you can attend a variety of Lightroom classes and even drop by the Help Desk Live booth and ask me your questions in person (you can save $50 off the price of Photoshop World if you use code PSWFOCUS414 on check out).

If you like to follow blogs then keep an eye on Photofocus. I am contributing regular Lightroom-centric blog posts, monthly Lightroom Hangouts, and we just released a iBook on the Lightroom Develop module that is free until August 1st!

If you like to get out into some of the most amazing National Parks in the USA, make some amazing photographs, and learn a little Lightroom along the way then I invite you to join me on one of the trips I’m co-leading with The Digital Photo Workshops this year.

I’m working on a really cool new Lightroom-based project with my friends at Peachpit Press. I can’t say much about it now, but I’m super excited to bring you yet one more unique way to learn Lightroom later this year.

Posted in LR5, Resources, Update Tagged , , , |